top of page

Songwriters: Your Songs Make the Difference

With more cash prizes on offer than ever before and a firm closing date of Thursday 29 October approaching, songwriters do not want to miss out on entering their song in the annual Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition.

The competition’s original mid-May closing date was extended due to the impact of COVID-19, ensuring songwriters from around the world had plenty of time to enter. Along with the extension, came the announcement of an additional ten runner-up prizes of A$1,000, donated by an unnamed generous supporter. So far, entries have come from as far as Mozambique, Malaysia and Mexico.

The 1st place winner will receive a career-changing A$50,000 furnished by APRA AMCOS, Alberts and BMG; 2nd place of A$10,000 courtesy of Banki Haddock Fiora, A$5,000 courtesy Aon, and the A$5,000 AMPAL Emerging Songwriter Prize awarded to an unpublished songwriter and furnished by the Australasian Music Publishers Association Limited.

At the heart of the Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition is the financial support that songwriters provide with their full A$50 entry fee going directly to the transformative programs of Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia (NORO). Due to the financial impact that COVID-19 has had on the non-profit organisation, coupled with the heightened demand for services, the competition’s proceeds come at a crucial time.

“At NORO, we provide music therapy services to 1,300 individuals and groups each week, and without the generosity of the talented songwriters who enter the Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition, we would not be able to deliver these therapies to all in need,” said NORO Music Therapy CEO Belinda Leonard.

“In 2020, your songs mean more than ever, and on behalf of everyone at NORO and the wonderful clients we work with, I would like to say thank you. Your songs make a difference.”

In eleven years of the competition’s existence, entrants have contributed over A$1.2 million, making a huge difference in the lives of others with their songs.

Following the judging period, a Top 40 shortlist will be announced in February. The 10 runners-up will come from that list, with the new A$1,000 prize tier aiming to help more songwriters financially in a year of tumult.

Named after the iconic songwriters and founding members of The Easybeats, Harry Vanda and the late George Young, the long-running competition has served as a career springboard to an impressive line-up: Matt Corby and Dann Hume in 2019 for ‘Miracle Love,’ Amy Shark (2018), Gretta Ray (2016), Husky Gawenda (2014), Isabella Manfredi (2013), Kimbra (2011) and Megan Washington (2009), as well as top finishers including Sarah Aarons,Gotye, Meg Mac, and Gang of Youths frontman David Le’aupepe.

A judging panel comprised of influential artists, producers, media and music industry professionals has been confirmed, including award-winning songwriter Lior, APRA AMCOS Ambassador Dallas Frasca, triple j Unearthed’s Dave Ruby Howe, producer Robert Conley and reps from Amazon Music and Universal Music.

Top prize winners to be announced shortly after the Top 40 shortlist is revealed in February 2020.

Entries close 11.59pm AEDT Thursday 29 October 2020.

Please visit for more information and terms and conditions. The Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition logo and previous winner images can be downloaded here.


Related Posts

See All


bottom of page